The park was dedicated in 2013 and was turned over to the Coppell Historical Society.
This Park commemorates the rich history of the town of Coppell, which began here
in the late 1870s along present Bethel and Coppell Roads. This was downtown Coppell,
the location of general stores, a post office, a bank, a drug store, blacksmiths,
schools, churches, and homes. Today if is a part of the city’s revitalization plan
of Old Coppell.
This corner, at various times in history, as the site of several houses, a service
station, and a temporary movie theater. Its status as a historical park began in
2003 when an antique windmill as donated by the Thweatt family and preserved here.
Later, the historic 1904 Kirkland House was moved to this site and the Minyard Store
as added. The designation of this land as a historical park was made possible by
the Wheelice Wilson family, which lived here starting in 1947.
Coppell Heritage Park is dedicated to the memory of pioneers who made Coppell